Indian Council for Philosophical Research

Indian Council of Philosophical Research (ICPR) was established in 1977 by the Ministry of Education, Government of India as an autonomous organization designed to bring back the entire tradition of Indian philosophy to its pristine and original form and provide required impetus to nurture and promote new thinking through its intensive programs of research.

Website: Indian Council of Philosophical Research, ICPR, New Delhi

Department of Education, University of Delhi

The Department of Education, University of Delhi, earlier known as the Central Institute of Education (CIE), was perhaps the first major institute of professional learning and research in Education established just after independence. The first Prime Minister of India, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru and his Education Minister, Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad took considerable interest in the establishment of CIE in 1947 and its activities and progress in those early years. Maulana Azad visualized the function of CIE not merely to "turn out teachers who will be 'model teachers", but to evolve into "a research centre for solving new educational problems of the country".


Department of Philosophy, University of Delhi

Located in the heart of the main Humanities Block of the Arts Faculty, North Campus, facing an inner quadrangle garden, the Department of Philosophy is one of the oldest in the University of Delhi.Since then the Department of Philosophy is an Autonomous Department.

Various distinguished scholars who have either taught or been associated with the Department of Philosophy, Delhi University include N.V. Banerjee, S.S. Barlingay, R. C. Pandeya, Margaret Chatterjee, S.K. Saxena, Ram Chandra Gandhi and Mrinal Miri. A large number of eminent philosophers from India and abroad have lectured in the Department. Philosophers from abroad include Donald Davidson, Willard Quine, Peter Strawson, Akeel Bilgrami, George Henrik von Wright, Karl Potter, Anil Gupta, Martha Nussbaum, Richard Sorabjee, Elliot Sober, Hajime Nakamura, Arvind Sharma and Anthony Parel, among many others.

The Organizing Committee

Prof. Balaganapathi Devarakonda

Department of Philosophy, University of Delhi

Conference Director

Dr. Vikas Baniwal

Department of Education, University of Delhi

Conference Coordinator

Mrs. Charu Thapliyal

To know more, visit

Ms. Madhulika Sharma

To know more, visit

Mr. Tanweer Alam